Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Would you go for a promotion that effectively pays the same?
  • tall_martin

Hi,

Would you go for a promotion that pays a bit more, but all the extra pay would be sucked up in petrol costs to get there?

I’m a teacher, looking at second in department jobs. One has come up but its a 30 mile round trip vs current 4 mile (on bike) round trip. That will swallow all the pay rise in petrol money.

No realistic chance of promotion where I am now, and this is the closest 2nd in department job I’ve seen this year and I’m a bit fed up with the place I’m at now. The other place solves some of my gripes, but I’m sure it will bring up gripes of its own.

Any advice?

Cheers!

darrell
    Free Member

30 mile round should be doable on a bike. Why drive?

paulosoxo
    Free Member

Have you got the job, or yet to apply?

Blackhound

It depends. How about effect on pension and future prospects? You may get a further promotion sooner so consider it an investment.

Of course as darrell says you could ride in. Kids do all the homework by email now don’t they!

allthepies
    Free Member

As Blackhound, presumably the extra wage will increase your pension entitlement ? And it’s a step up the ladder, the next step up might be back closer to home again.

nickjb
    Free Member

Sounds like it effectively pays less as you’ll be up earlier and home later. Having switched from a long commute to a short commute and seen a massive improvement in quality of life for me it’d have to be a great offer to go the other way.

mrmoofo

It depends what your ambitions are !

Perhaps, if you have to ask, then that is your answer ….

freddyg
    Free Member

A 15 mile commute is sod all really! Wouldn’t the time lost in the longer car journey have been spent getting changed/showered anyway when on the bike?

A couple of things:

1) Why can’t you bike in?
    2) What car have you got? 30 miles in a 30mpg car will cost you about £6 a day (@£1.35/litre).