Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • would a cx bike be a lot slower on the road than an equivalent road bike?
  • racefaceec90

apologies for the numpty question (you can tell that i’m no expert on road/c’x bikes 😳 after i have paid off my bmx,i am seriously thinking about finally doing what i have wanted to do for a long time (get a road bike).the thing is that i have my eye on one of these bad boys

was just wondering how much slower it would be on the road compared to an equivalent priced tarmac (it’s £1500) for instance.would it also be capable of riding any distance on tarmac (fitness allowing).i really like the idea of a c/x bike,as i can explore bridleways around wilts e.t.c/also good for winter use too. to be honest i would use it off road a bit (would like to ride it on ridgeway near avebury),but i can see most of my riding being on the road. thanks in advance 🙂

IanMunro
    Free Member

Depends on the tyres mostly. Put road tyres on it, and it will be as fast as any road bike. Put cx tyres on and it will be slower.

oldgit
    Free Member

Yes a bit slower even with road tyres.
    The bits I notice the most are the slacker angles and the longer chainstays.
    Slower than my 80s steel bike
    Slower than my Ti training bike
    Slower far slower than my race day bike.

That said if you’re out off on your own then it won’t matter

BMX?

njee20
    Free Member

Disc brakes preclude you from doing any road racing on it, but as said; with the right tyres you’ll be fine. A bloke used to race my local crits on a cross bike, did fine.

shortcut

That’s really nice.

geoffj

shortcut +1

*toddles off to look at spesh site

racefaceec90

oldgit the bmx is a mid life crisis purchase 😉

njee20 have no plans on racing at all (my lack of fitness sees to that 😆 😳

ahwiles
    Free Member

what geoff said.

aP
    Free Member