Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 49 total)
  • workplace apathy
  • RustyNissanPrairie

I work in manufacturing for a company that has 130 ish employees.
    The company is approx 50-60 years old.
    The problem is the maintenance/engineering department that I’m part of suffers from a general feeling of apathy. Everyone seems to just do enough but sometimes like today its not even that amount.
    Most of the group are long timers and well set in their way.

Its got to a point where I’ve pretty much had enough of it as occasionally I need their support and its lacking hence I’m thinking of leaving, the problem is though is it a case of the grass being greener?

JoeG
    Free Member

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Job for life…. Worst idea ever.

BigDummy
    Free Member

Something like 20% of people are any use.

About 60% of people think they are part of the 20%.

I don’t know where you’d have to work to be surrounded by people who all feel motivated and appreciated. Some terrifying tech start-up bent on harvesting human organs to power the robotic overlords of the near-future probably.

🙂

mikewsmith
    Free Member

I don’t know where you’d have to work to be surrounded by people who all feel motivated and appreciated.

Alone

igm

Something like 20% of people are any use.

About 60% of people think they are part of the 20%.

And most of the 20% are actually in the 40%

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Best phrase for work place importance.
    Place your finger in a glass of water then take it out again.
    Did the water leave a void where your finger was? Then you are irreplaceable.

When they replaced all Bar one of the board in a place I worked everything carried on.

BigDummy
    Free Member

True. Which, statistically speaking, is why it is possible for 100% of people to feel either (a) useless or (b) underappreciated.

🙂

rOcKeTdOg