Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Working from home
  • grunty
    Free Member

From today I will be working from home for good. Long story that I won’t go into here but my situation is this.

I work as a software developer for a company based in Yorkshire and have been working remotely from the team for the last 18mths in another office. This office is now no longer available for me to use.

I work using agile methodologies so we have a daily scrum meeting by phone.

What I would like to know is some ideas on how to concentrate whilst at home and not to get distracted by other things, how to get into the ‘mood’ to work, how to handle the lack of interaction with people and not to feel like I HAVE to go out every night as I am sure that would drive the missus up the wall.

Thanks.

Stuart

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member
    DaveyBoyWonder
    Free Member

Speaking from experience, don’t put your laptop next to your home PC/laptop (reduce the chance of eBay/STW etc whilst you’re meant to be working), same applies for the xBox.

I don’t think I could work from home permanently. A colleague of mine has had to all year so far due to back problems and its driving him up the wall.

TooTall
    Free Member

Make sure you have a work ‘place’ to go and work. If it is the dining room table, you won’t be ‘at work’ and the mindset is harder to get in to. If you can make that office / workspace and keep the divide, that should help. Wear clothes – sitting in your dressing gown for the working day may not be condusive to your best work.

You claim to be a software developer yet crave human interaction – are you sure about either, as they are not usually found in the same person!

JPcapel
    Free Member

I am into my 9th yr working from home, it rocks.
    I operate a reward system, if I work a full solid day, the next day I start with a ride and then accept a later start.