Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Work moan
  • molgrips
    Free Member

I don’t normally do this, but I could do with some perspective.

I’m an IT consultant, and there’s a team of techies and a different team of sellers. As you might imagine, orders are down – now they are pinning some of the blame on us techies for not ‘selling ourselves’ well enough.

Apparently, the hope is that by collaborating with the sellers we can get them to invite us onto their sales trips, and get (internal) revenue that way. But there are four of us on this team, so in order to go on their sales trips I have to go in place of a colleague.

Now we’re all under the same pressure, so this is going to end in us shouting louder and louder to get these engagements. To make matters worse we are all quite good friends, and we don’t want to be fighting each other.

Anyone else been in a similar situation?

honkiebikedude
    Free Member

Take turns to go on sales trips ? If you go on a sales trip tomorrow , then you don’t do another till the other three have done their stint ?

Kryton57

I have been.

I joined the sales team after realising the one I “helped” got a new job / rise / etc and my boss is basically looking after his own career instead of helping me with mine. But I was invited to the position by being the “best” sales support colleague.

The moral of this story – help yourself or move to sales. Its where the reward is higher, yet usually so is the risk.

More specifically for you – its in your own group interest to sell your services is it not? Who wants to be here next year?

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    bigG
    Free Member

The fact that you’re even asking the question shows how you’re not made out for anything to do with sales.

Accept your fate pond life and watch the pushy ones prosper. There’s no place for “nice” or “friends” in modern thrusting successful workplace.