• This topic has 21 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by Bazz.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Work back/pay back
  • Bazz

Just looking for a quick survey for those on here who are employed, (self employed don’t count).

My employer has stated that they would like to introduce what they call a work back/pay back scheme for un-certified/self certified sickness, which basically means that for every day of sickness that you have you either have to give back one days pay or leave or come in and work on one of your days off.

Now i have canvassed my friends and haven’t found anyone whose employers do anything similar at all, nor have any of them either heard of such practices, many questioned the legality of it.

Naturally senior managers within the organisation i work for are all for it, going as far as telling us that it is being widely intoduced in the private sector (I work in the public sector).

Be interested to hear from anyone who has this at their work. Thanks.

nbt

never heard of that at all. private sector. I’ve worked at places that don’t offer very much sick pay, but that’s different

gonefishin
    Free Member

I’m not sure about the legallities but I’ve never heard of it for staff people, contractors are obviously a different case. What it actually sounds like getting a doctors line for any sick day which sounds to me like a right pain and will likely involve people taking more not less time off.

wwaswas

Never heard of it.

Forcing you to trade holidays for sick days sounds a marginally legal.

Given you’re public sector what do the unions say?

flowerpower
    Free Member

Never heard of this (I am in the private sector). However my employer doesn’t automatically pay company sick pay (just SSP after the waiting period). In reality they do pay it – but let it be known that it is at their discretion and if they feel that you are taking the mick they would withdraw it.