Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Woodworkers – your advice please
  • DavidB
    Free Member

I need to sort out my tools as they are all knackered and I want to get back into it. Where should I look to get a decent set of tools, plane,chisels, set square tenon saw etc..

Any good deals on buying as a kit?

goldfish24

For the main hand tools such as planes and chisels there’s a lot to be said for buying quality old tools off Ebay. However, you’ll then end up restoring tools as much as working wood, so consider new. I’ve heard very good things said about the Axminster rider plans, which are as cheap as you’ll get for a quality new plane. Avoid new Stanley, but go ahead and buy old Stanley if you’re prepared for some extra work.
    Axminster is a good site for other hand tools. I’m no chisel expert. For saws, you can go the old route and then you’ll need to buy a sharpening file and set and learn how to use it, but modern inexpensive hand saws are actually razor sharp since they have hardened teeth. They can’t be sharpened but they’re good for a while, I personally buy such tools from screwfix when needed. I find tool station is usually cheaper but lower quality.
    As for set squares most people have moved away from the wooden carpenters squares and now use engineers squares (because they stay square). Try Axminster online or screwfix.

sandboy