Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Windows xp boots but icons missing and start key. Help please.
  • King-ocelot
    Free Member

Hello my nephew has a PC running XP, when it boots there are only a few icons showing and the start key, task bar are absent. A bit if googling but no remedy I can see, plus I’m not too tech savvy with windows these days. The lads got learning difficulties and is upset about not getting his PC working, he’s been offered a new PC/laptop windows 7 but he just wants his fixed. If anyone can offer a solution we would greatly apprichite it. He said it started last week but sometimes it worked ok, I just tried to switch it on 10 times and the issue has been there.

dmorts

Check the taskbar/start button isn’t hidden at the bottom of the screen. You can set it to only appear when the mouse is moved to the bottom of the screen. So move the mouse to the bottom of the screen to check

The missing icons might be due to a virus, being accidentally deleted (check recycle bin) or you’re somehow logging in as a different user to normal

Jujuuk68
    Free Member

system restore to the last good working point?

There was some sort of update to windows xp (the last one before MS withdraws support) which has messed things up. Might be linked to that if its only just happened.

Or alternatively a virus/malware. I use malwarebytes which finds a lot, and cc cleaner, with Avast Anti Virus, which seems me reasonably safe.

allthepies
    Free Member

Firstly I’d run a Malwarebytes scan to check there’s nothing nasty running on the machine.

King-ocelot
    Free Member

Thanks, he’s been trying to boot it up for the last hour. The task bar is visible but is blank (ie it’s just the outline) i can get into explorer so will attempt to run virus scanners as suggested.

enfht
    Free Member

First things first, reboot, F8, Last Known Good Configuration and see if that works.

rossendalelemming
    Free Member

could be explorer.exe