Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Windows 10 New SSD question
  • wilburt
    Free Member

Do I need third party cloning software to replicate my existing hard drive onto a new SSD drive or can I use something from Windows disk management ?

It’s a desktop PCs with plenty of spare slots and just has Windows, Office 16, Citrix and Zwift on the drive all media is on another disk that’s staying.

I did this on a Mac recently without much trouble but most online PC articles seem to suggest I need some additional software. Any help appreciated.

scaredypants

Must admit, I’d install as new on the new SSD and reinstall those few programmes

I’m no IT expert though

Rockplough
    Free Member

I bought a Samsung SSD for which Samsung supply free cloning software. It was a breeze. I guess other manufacturers will have similar.

cranberry
    Free Member

You can clone the disk, but I’d probably just do a fresh install and re-install the apps. Ninite.com is handy for installing the everyday apps that you’ll need alongside Windows.

wilburt
    Free Member

Thanks, Ninite looks useful although in this particular machine there are very few apps.

My concern with a fresh install is getting all the drivers for the pc and never ending updates for windows and office again. It seemed simpler to just boot from a copy but perhaps not. I’ll just have a faff and see what happens. ta

cranberry
    Free Member

ending updates for windows

Just download the latest version of Windows and connect to a network during the installation and that is taken care of.

enfht
    Free Member