Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 106 total)
  • Wider rims
  • mikejd

Read the review in ST issue 95, wondering about trying. Has anyone any everyday experience? Can they fit in a normal frame, ie not specifically designed for them?

I have about 10mm clearance between my present tyre and chain at its closest so imagine this shouldn’t be a problem.

ajantom

Depends how Wide you’re going.
    The WTB rims they tested, aren’t really very wide at 25mm. I’ve been running 29mm Sun rims for a few years, and had no problems with clearance on 2 or 3 frames.
    If you go 35mm or more, you may get a bit more width on the tyre, but you’re more likely to see the tyre profile get a bit squarer. I’ve run 2.4 Chunkey Monkeys on the 50mm rims on my Krampus, and they come up about 6/7mm wider each side than on normal rims.

andysredmini
    Free Member

I’m finding it another bike industry con. My new 30mm are no better than my 21mm. If anything i think they are probably worse. The same tyre on a 21mm has a rounder profile and I can corner harder. The tyre on the 30mm has a flatter squarer top and washes out when leaned over a lot easier than the 21mm. I’m also struggling with tyre pressure on the 30mm rims. On my 21mm rims I use 25psi at the rear. On the 30mm I have to run around 30psi to stop it squirming in hard corners but it feels to hard and lacks the grip of the same tyre on the 21mm rims.
    21mm rims are mavic 821
    30mm rims are light bicycle
    Rear Tyres are 2.35 hans dampf on both

I didn’t buy 30mm for any perceived benefit I just chose the light bicycle because they look good.

They may be better with a different tyre that stays rounder when on a wider rim.

ajantom

Based on riding the Krampus with 3″ tyres, what makes the difference isn’t the width, but the volume.
    So just putting wider rims (IMO this means 30mm +) with the same tyres brings minimal advantages. It starts to make sense when you also put a larger volume tyre on them too.

rOcKeTdOg