Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • why is there a little movement in my cassette?
  • odannyboy
    Free Member

took my rear wheel out the other day and the cassete block has a little movement up and down (as in,when its in the bike it would be up and down)
    the hubs are bottom of the range deore and cassete is a hg40 8 sp.
    the cassete is in need of replacement as its worn but as im no expert in these things can any one guess if its just the inner part of the cassete or the fre hub thingy bit? if its the free hub would that be easily repairable
    ps its not the cones, i know that much, it is the cassette assy area.
    cheers

Olly
    Free Member

is it a shimano hub?

sounds to me like the freehub has come loose.
    cant see how the sprockets could move on the freehub body.
    it involves stripping the wheel, taking out the axel and bearings, and tightening the fitting that holds the freehub unit onto the hub.

down the hole where the axel comes from (if you see what i mean) you should see its actually hexagonal inside.
    14mm i think?

did you know you can add allen keys together?
    stick a 10mm key down, and a 4mm key next to it, and it will be fine to tighten up the bolt.

this is the bit to tighten, holds the freehub onto the hubshell

odannyboy
    Free Member

ok. it is only a tiny bit of movement. i was guessing it was wear someplace??
    bottom of the range shimano deore hubs.
    if i get the tool to remove the star shaped lock nut jobbie that hold the cassete on, doe the cassete come off easily or will it need to be pulled off somehow (ie with another tool?)

lordmerchant09
    Free Member