Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Why does my bike lean to the right when I take my hands off the bars?
  • no_eyed_deer
    Free Member

Klein Attitude – with vertical drop outs and Pace forks. Wheels built by my fairly incompetent self, but both seem to be dished and true ok. Wheel bearings all well adjusted. No play in the headset. Tyres on and pumped up. Skewers nice and tight and wheels fitted ok.

So why does the bike 'hang' to the right when I take my hands off the bars? That can't be right, can it?

It's not like it's trying to steer right, in fact I've no idea where it's trying to steer, but to ride along in a straight line the bike pitches itself over slightly at an angle on the right hand side.

Answers on a postcard please.. 🙂

barca
    Free Member

Your right butt cheek is bigger than the left.
    It's true.
    I have a Sports Science degree.
    Glutus Maximus inbalance. Have you noticed how people walking down the road texting end up walking diagonally until they walk into something/some one/the road? It's because they're no longer subconciously correcting their butt cheek inbalance.

JollyGreenGiant
    Free Member

Is the headset running freely with no tight spots?
    Frame or fork,slightly out of alignment?

barca
    Free Member

Sorry – a double shot of caffeine this morning and I got all giddy. It's far too early for that kind of arsing about.

no_eyed_deer
    Free Member

…funny thing is – actually believed you! 😯

JGG.. I'm pretty sure the frame's straight, but how does a fork go out of alignment and how could I tell..?

STATO
    Free Member

I get this as well sometimes, its not the bike, its you. I always thought it was somthing to do with leg length.

santacruzsi
    Free Member

Your wallet is in your right pocket?

avdave2

Have you tried dressing to the left?

erbii
    Free Member

lol @ barca.. funny

holyhutzpa
    Free Member