Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • why do I keep killing road pedals? and are more expensive pedals worth it?
  • freeagent
    Free Member

I’ve been using Shimano R540 pedal on my road bike for the last 18 months.
    A few weeks ago I noticed that the drive side pedal bearings were getting really stiff and notchy, so I ordered a new pair of pedals.
    The new ones have now done a couple of hundred miles, and the drive side bearings are already feeling rougher/stiffer than the other side.

I always unclip with the non-drive side when I’m riding.
    I’m a heavy rider (around 100KG)

Has anyone else experienced this?
    I’ve bought the Shimano TLD PD40 tool and pulled the bearings out + added a bit more grease.

I’m not a total monkey with mechanical stuff, I’ve worked in Engineering for 20+ years and know my way around this stuff.

If the R540s are just a bit crap, are the ‘105’ level road pedals much better?

I’m not too keen on swapping to another manufacturer as I have Shimano cleats on 2 pairs of shoes and R540s on two bikes.

Cheers in advance..

monkeychild
    Free Member

I’ve had this as have numerous mates who use them. I also have a set pf 2013/2014 105 pedals too and they weren’t as bad, but I didn’t ride them in rain and wintery conditions like the R540s.

I just accepted that a strip and grease every now and again would see me right.

Do they click too? As we all had that issue.

wanmankylung
    Free Member

I always unclip with the non-drive side when I’m riding.

If I’m interpreting this correctly and that you keep pulling or twisting your cleat out of the pedal when you’re riding along, then it’s no giant leap to say that your pedalling style with that leg is shocking. Find the reason for it and sort it out.

Is the cleat in the correct position for a kick off?

igm

100kg here too and had exactly that problem.

The Ultegra pedals seem to have sorted it.

brooess
    Free Member