Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Why can't we just make things if we know the chemical compound for it?
  • samuri
    Free Member

Like emeralds and diamonds and beef?

I have very little chemistry knowledge beyond O level so that’ll be why I don’t know. I’m guessing some of the compounds take a lot of energy to create or something. But explain it to me in laymans terms please.

scaredypants

we can – better than that, we can snap off the C from some CO2’s to make Oxygen and enough carbon for a diamond mountain

(just press Windows/C/O together)

Beef is tricky, mind

tonyg2003

You can make diamonds artificially it just takes hugh amounts of pressure.

Beef? You could grow tissue in lab. It’s just too expensive and steak tastes good …

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    deadlydarcy
    Free Member

Well, we can make diamonds. Just need carbon and a lot of pressure.

As for other gemstones, well, their colours come from the various minerals, elements, etc contained within their crystalline structure. They tend to be not as hard as diamonds though so there’s not a lot of interest in creating them. Also, industrial diamonds, while incredibly useful for drilling and what not, are not as pretty as the ones Africans die mining for us. Sometimes, you can’t beat time and millions of tonnes of pressure.