Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 67 total)
  • Why am i so tired, medical advice appreciated
  • swisstony
    Free Member

Right i’m tired all the time to the point when i fall asleep on the settee after work and have to have a sleep in the day at weekends and can’t stay up past 10, last night i went to bed at 8.30!

I’m a 40yr old teacher (but not a stressed one), am pretty fit, commute 14miles most days and am generally in good health with a good balanced diet.

My blood pressure is 139/92, bmi 25.3, weight 75.6kg, height 173cm, fat 12%.

I went to the doctor a while ago who was little help and tested for anemia and glandular fever but both were negative.

Any help?

ta

Garry_Lager

What time do you get up in the morning?
    Teaching seems like a pretty tiring job – you’re sort of performing all day, so I’d expect one to feel tired at the end of it.
    Going to bed at 8.30 is unusual though. Maybe you’ve just got into the habit of napping and need to fight it, get up and do something else when the zzzs start to threaten.

becky_kirk43
    Free Member

Persist with your GP if it carries on and see if you can get referred for a sleep study. Might be that although you’re asleep at night, you’re not getting well rested (can be caused by lots of things eg. apnoea, narcolepsy etc.)

If not, perhaps alter your evening routine so that in the hour preceding going to bed, read a book (or singletrack..) and don’t eat / drink anything to near to going to sleep either. And then make sure you get up at a set time in the morning.

Hope that helps in some way.

takisawa2

Sounds like your getting too much sleep. If I get more than 5-6hrs I’m groggy as hell next day.

jamesgarbett
    Free Member

Did you get a thyroid function test too?

swisstony
    Free Member

I get up at 7 so not silly early, going to bed at 8.30 is unusual but last week i’ve been having trouble fighting it.