• This topic has 25 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by pj11.
Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Whiteways nr Arundel
  • chris36860
    Free Member

So, I’ve just returned home from a very muddy but great ride around my local trail. I’ve been riding Whiteways for about 15 years ish and over the years new trials have popped up especially lately. This morning, 4 of us were stood having a chat at the start of Northern Edge, when some guy drives up in a land rover on the SDW path and tells us to get off the land as it’s private. In all my years of riding there, I have never seen a sign or been told it’s private. We asked him who owns it and we were told it belongs to the Duke of Norfolk and it’s his shooting land. Can anybody confirm this please? He was pretty rude about it and we mentioned that some signage would help as there is nothing (we did check when he left). Cheers

hodgynd
    Free Member

Get an OS map ..should be easy enough to determine ..

Jamze

OS map won’t show land ownership? Sounds about right though, as Duke of Norfolk owns lots around Arundel Castle.

So bloke was prob technically correct if you weren’t on the cycle trail (which is on the OS map.) However all down to what the owner tolerates in the forest.

hodgynd
    Free Member

Obviously it won’t show land ownership..but it will show rights of way ..
    All land is private / owned by someone ..sounds as if because of the recent activity in terms of new trails sprouting up the landowner has taken the hump and has decided enough is enough ..

towzer

re row, this is pretty useful

http://www.rowmaps.com/

Splash-man
    Free Member

AFAIK the woods are owned by the Forestry Commission. It was the FC that was trying to put some lodges up in the woods a few years ago.
    I know the trail you mean (I think) and that isn’t exactly new.

I’m heading over tomorrow btw.

Splash-man
    Free Member

Houghton

Here you go….

Splash-man
    Free Member