Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Which food mixer?
  • flip
    Free Member

My wife wants a classic Kenwood chef but i just want to check with you lot if theres anything better out there.

She bakes lots and would also like a food processor attachment which the Kenwood has.

Over to you 🙂

ChubbyBlokeInLycra
    Free Member

No there isn’t.
    KitchenAid looks nicer, but Chef still rules.
    IMHO, obviously

LadyGresley
    Free Member

Kenwood Chef – my 48 year old Chef is still in regular use 😀

woodlikesbeer
    Free Member

We’ve got a kitchenAid. Lots of attachments available, but at a ridiculous price. What annoys me is that in the US KitchenAid is fraction of the price. We just seem to be being ripped off. For that reason I would say go with the Kenwood.

trevron73
    Free Member

I am a profesional chef by trade and i am currently repairing my kitchen aid as the worm gear strips it self under too much load (to save the motor) The replacement gear is $2.65 in America but £46.00 over here?
    The cost £400 plus is crazy , they are great to look at and just the same as the £265 Kenwood , try get a metal bodied ken wood if you can as the plastic ones feel cheap and flimsy . Get down a shop to lift and feel them touch ect . The last time i bought one for work i got a ken wood to save cash and 3 years later its fine .

giantjason
    Free Member

Can’t go wrong with a kenwood. Parents have one that is approx. 40 years old that hasn’t gave any trouble. We now have a modern day equivalent and hope for it to last just as long.

matt_outandabout

We have kitchen aid that was bought at least 19 years ago. It has stripped its worm gear on us, but part was cheap. It wore out bushes, again cheap part. It is designed to take apart, clean, grease and fix. Great machine.

Not worth the £400 though, ours was ex John Lewis display and was about £100 iirc.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member