Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Which Enduro Wheelset
  • silversun
    Free Member

Hi guys,

I’m in the market for some new wheels, quite tough on wheels and ride a lot of rocky trials. Been playing with Light Bicycle carbon rims on some hope hubs but a bit worried about rock strikes and generally breaking the rims so I’ve been leaning towards some EX1501.

What would your money go on at the moment?

They are nothing fancy and not particularly light, but I’d go for Hope Tech Enduros every time

howsyourdad1
    Free Member

DT Swiss ex 471s or 481s on 350s or 240s I reckonz

Steve77
    Free Member

How long have you been on the LB rims? Just stop worrying until you actually break them.

reggiegasket
    Free Member

EX471s on Hope. Or just ride your LBs…

mikekay
    Free Member

ive got 3 sets of light bike rims and ive been using them for about 3 years, ive managed to brake 2 rear rims but they were big impacts on the edge of rocks the type of thing that would write off alloy rims as well.

For the money i wouldn’t run anything else now.

silversun
    Free Member

Thanks for the replies. I haven’t got any LB wheels yet, I’ve been playing with the idea of ordering some but was a bit worried about destroying carbon rims, hence the thought of some DT Swiss alloy.

rickon
    Free Member

The EX1501 are a great wheelset, they’re only 25mm wide if that bothers you.

The Hope Tech Enduros are weird, narrow rims and heavy. They should have stuck with Stan’s as a supplier.

The new 2016 Flow rim on a Hope pro4 with DT comp spokes would be a bargain. Wide, strong, not heavy. I reckon you’ll see a lot of enduro’ists on these next season

Also, Pro4 on Easton Arc27 would be a good bet, they’re stiff, pretty light, and easy to build.

paulneenan76
    Free Member

They do EX1501’s in varying internal widths now. 30mm is 1767g. Good all-round bet.