Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Which CX disc wheels?
  • r8jimbob88
    Free Member

Evening folks,

I recently bought a CX bike that came with some Fulcrum Sport DB wheels. Now I’ve only ridden it a handful of times but one of the bearings in the rear hub has completely seized already. It hasn’t been pressure washed either. I was certainly expecting it to last a little longer!

I will contact the original retailer and see if they’ll fix / replace but bearing in mind this wheelset costs just £129.99 brand new…. I think it’s probably wise to look for an alternative wheelset. From what I’ve read online I’m not the only person with this complaint either.

So what wheelsets are recommended? I’m new to the CX scene. Im not looking to spend a fortune but would like some durability. Disc brake wheelset obviously!

Cheers

James

burnsybhoy
    Free Member

I don’t own these, but for CX you’ll be hard pushed to beat them on price and hand built too.

Go for the Dugast for pimp factor.

BORG22T Disc Wheels – The Cycle Clinic

Review on road.cc

nre
    Free Member

Heard good things about the pro build wheels (built by Raleigh), merlin have them at good prices, there’s one wheel set with cx28 rims that is standard QR front and rear, or one with Alex Draw 1.9 rims that is through axle front and rear but convertible back to QR with adapters.

kilo

Mrs got an aksium disc rear wheel a while ago seems to be ok

Bolt

Got a pair of unused mavic askium disc wheels for sale if your interested?

£100 + postage.

pdw
    Free Member

I have the same wheels, and the same problem with the bearings. At least one of the bearings only had a single seal. Swapped them out for some Enduros.

Also built up a second set of wheels: Stan’s Iron Cross, DT Revolution spokes and Novatec hubs. Came in at 1450g and £200 (Merlin have/had an insanely good price on a pair of rims). Can’t comment on durability yet!

welshfarmer

Would 29er wheels not fit?

Picto
    Free Member