Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Where would you live if you had to commute to Swinton?
  • edward2000
    Free Member

As the post really. It would be nice to live with some riding on the doorstep. Any suggestions where? Thanks

Nomad
    Free Member

Bolton on the edge of the moors, close to Rivi

br
    Free Member

Somewhere along the Swindon/Oxford road, and commute by M/C.

allthepies
    Free Member

Which Swinton ? Or did you mean Swindon ? 😐

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Manchester? Somewhere near a direct train

derek_starship
    Free Member

There are several towns called Swinton.

Can you be more specific?

trail_rat
    Free Member

presuming the mrs didnt work else where …..id choose to live in a 15mile radius of swinton on a decent cycle route.

edward2000
    Free Member

Sorry I meant Swinton in Manchester. The Mrs has to drive there to work. I am a home based sales manager so I can move anywhere. Nearby hills are a requirement (for me at least!)

Garry_Lager

E, SE of Manchester = nae riding. So you need to be either NE along the M61 corridor (Winter hill, rivington) or N along the M66, Bury or Ramsbottom way.

The M60 is a veil of tears at the moment with a massive managed motorway scheme being implemented. So a trial commute right now may give you a bleak picture – it will presumably get better.

gogg
    Free Member

Swinton

I’d have to go there 5 days a week, so I’d waste less time commuting and have more time free after work to get the jobs done that need doing at home, then freeing me up for full weekends of fun.

edward2000
    Free Member

Is Bromley Cross any good?

igm

Ahh Swinton, not Swindon. I was going to suggest somewhere down the trail round the back of the Nationwide – it always looks good – but I don’t know if there’s a Nationwide in Swinton.

duncancallum

I live in Horwich, there are 3 of us on my road who MTB and 3 fell runners.

I open the back gate and I am on the moors, its ace!