Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Where to Holiday in Italy?
  • 1981miked
    Free Member

Afternoon all,

Hope 2012 is going well for you so far. Im after some advice on where to holiday in Italy.

I am getting married in May this year and we would like to visit Italy for our honeymoon. I am just about to start looking at where to go etc but as STW seems to be the oracle for pretty much everything i thought id throw it open to you guys first for your experiences and recommendatons.

We would prefer to hire an apartment or similar and if it could be near the coast that would be excellent, however we are open to suggestions. Somewhere nice and relaxing where we can enjoy nice food and drink, id prefer not to drive as i drive for a living so enjoy not doing so on holiday.

Thanks in advance.

Mike.

beinbhan
    TandemJeremy
    Free Member

I really enjoyed walking in the Monte Sibilini national park – and the spring flowers were simply fantastic in May – quite spectacular.

binners

If you stay in the Italian lakes, its absolutely stunning. And should you fancy riding there are those big hills there. What they called again. Ahhhh the Alps. You’re right on the Swiss Border so can mooch over there should you fancy it. And after flights to Milan, not too far a drive at all.

You can’t really go wrong anywhere in Italy for food and drunk. First place I ate there was a truck stop outside Milan. It was better than you’d get at most restaurants here.

And Italy will probably be bankrupt by the time you get there (if its later than next week) so you’ll be laughing cash-wise

1981miked
    Free Member

Thanks so far guys, ill look into your suggestions.

andydicko
    Free Member

I would highly reccommend Sorrento, very close to Naples (airport) so you could get away without driving, nice food and a very relaxed place, and on the stunning Amalfi Coast.

scratch
    Free Member

DO NOT GO TO NAPLES!

1981miked
    Free Member

Why not Naples scratch?