Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • where in south wales?
  • Paul-j

I’m looking to move to south wales, mainly to be closer to biking areas ie BPW, cwmcarn etc.

I’m thinking cardiff way, but i dont want to live in cardiff. more out side in a village some where.But as I dont have any family or friends that live in south wales finding these villages/towns are a bit difficult.

The reason I say cardiff is because i’m a self employed carpenter/joiner, so more house’s and business’s equal more work.

Looking to rent a house either a 1 or two bed. I own 1 Bed flat just out side of oxford. Which i will be renting out.

Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance

wiggles
    Free Member

Cheaper places are somewhere like risca or abercarn right in doorstep of cwmcarn and not far to Cardiff.

gwaelod
    Free Member

Are you expecting your customers to be high end…or low end?

If high end……penarth/vale of Glamorgan/ pentyrch/ creigau perhaps Radyr.

Low end…..anywhere north of Taffs Well…….although once you get into Brecon Beacons national park it starts getting high end again.

taxi25
    Free Member

Tongwynlais and Taffs well spring to mind. Handy for Cardiff and the M4, A470. There’s loads really, Cardiff’s population is about 330,000 but has a catchment of over 1,000,000 mostly old mining towns and villages. The further you go from Cardiff the cheaper but stranger it gets 😯

Paul-j

The work round here is high end, but what ever pays the bills.
    probably closer to cardiff would be best.

thanks for the information so far.

SaxonRider

Some true words above, BUT…

I know the Valleys get a bit of a rap for being at the low end of the social scale, but I know people who live in a good number of the Valleys’ towns and they are very happy. You can get a decent house at a much lower price than you would almost anywhere else in the country, AND you have relatively easy access to Cardiff.