Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • What's the likely outcome?
  • itsmygame
    Free Member

Hi guys please can someone withe any insight please advise me ?

The wife takes the child to school this morning and upon pulling into a parking space the guy in the next space opens the door as she’s pulling in denying an scratching the car. The setup of the car does not lend itself to ‘using excess speed to pull into a space’ so no question of the speed in which she pulled in IMO . Apparently the guy was nice enough and they swapped details. I’m no expert on body work but looks like it maybe a couple of hundred ( excess £50-100 can remember which).

When this is reported to insurance company what are they likely to do if he doesn’t admit liability.

Cheers all

Junkyard
    Free Member

50 /50 is my guess as both at fault

It will be a claim when you report it to the insurance company so I would assume you would both be better off doing it off the books tbh as loss of claims will far outweigh what you gain

maccruiskeen

I’m no expert on body work but looks like it maybe a couple of hundred

I wouldn’t expect change of £500.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    Ro5ey
    Free Member

Chips Away are excellent

I’ve used them on my own car and when I’ve scratch somebody elses

Never paid more than £180… they come to you and do the job on your drive so less faffing as well.

itsmygame
    Free Member

Cheers guys I feared you’d say that. How can it be fair though she stopped as quick as she could react. How do you plan for someone opening their door on you?

sugdenr
    Free Member

‘Fair’? Its the vicissitudes of life. Question is how reliable is your child witness going to be under cross examination in court? 😕

itsmygame
    Free Member

Cheers rosey

Junkyard
    Free Member

Devils advocate – how do you plan for someone reversing into the space ?