Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • What's the catch? (Job T&Cs content!)
  • fruitbat

I’ve been with my current company for 23 years and as part of a reorganization I’m having my job title changed form Engineering Manager to Principle Engineer.
    The content of my job is not changing significantly as most of my man management activities were reduced to allow me to concentrate on ‘engineering’, some time ago. The change of job title, to Principle Engineer, is really just a way formalizing what I’ve been doing for the last 6 years.
    Part of the change to my T&Cs is an increase in the notice period I require to give from the current 4 weeks to 3 months.
    What benefit do I derive from this? I can understand why the company might want to do it but I’m not sure if I should agree.
    Although I’ve been there for 23 years I’m not averse to changing companies should a lucrative offer come along. Would a 3 month notice period be a big negative in any future moves?

allthegear
    Free Member

3 months would be reasonably expected as a notice period by any future employer, if you are senior. I can’t see it causing issues if you were to move.

One thing to bear in mind, though, is you would be the only Principal Engineer rather than being in a ‘pool’ of Engineers beforehand. There is no such thing as making a person redundant, only a role. So, if they decided to make an engineer role redundant, they would then have to go through all the process of point scoring to work out who has to go and it might not be the person they want. If they make the Principal Engineer role redundant – well, that’s easy…

Rachel

mikewsmith
    Free Member

What benefit do I derive from this? I can understand why the company might want to do it but I’m not sure if I should agree.