Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • What to write in a ‘With Sympathy’ card?
  • swoosh
    Free Member

What do you write in one of these cards? It’s to a woman i haven’t meant (the deceased was a director at my work but has been off for about 8 months with cancer and sadly passed away last week). he was a good man and didnt deserve this to happen to him but i’ve never written one of these cards before, what should you write?

jimmy

“sorry for your loss, he will be missed.”

don’t sweat it if you don’t know the recipient.

wwaswas

somethign about your experience of him as a person and also an expression of sorrow for those he’s left behind who are having to deal with their loss?

Gary_M
    Free Member

Nice thought wwaswas but seems a bit ‘Gwyneth Paltrow’ to me, a simple ‘sorry to hear of your sad loss’ works just as well.

hora
    Free Member

As wwaswas says. What did you feel about him? think of your experiences with him? what little things did he do that you liked about him? I think a collection of different thoughts from different people will mean alot to the recipient. In a way it gives that persons life more colour and some solace. It must be awful for their partner but I do feel, in alittle way it will help sooth the void with positivity.

wwaswas

you may be right Gary_M but it’s also true that most of us have no idea about how people our partners work with perceive them – I thought it might be nice for the woman to hear that he was a decent bloke who someone she’s never met thought well of rather than just getting another ‘I can’t think of anything original’ type message.

aP
    Free Member

For births I normally write “better out than in eh?”, however for this it’d be a bit insensitive.
    If you didn’t know them then something like “sorry for your loss” is simnple and dignified – why say any more (if uyou knew him well then obviously you can write more)

hels
    Free Member