what to do about **** at work?

Home Forum Chat Forum what to do about **** at work?

Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 44 total)
  • what to do about **** at work?
  • thomthumb

I work as a research tech at a university, a guy who is supposed to be my equal (although a lot senior, and a lot more experience) seems to have a lot of social issues.

he gets wound up by the smallest most reasonable requests and shouts a lot. (the other day he threw a sandwhich and shouted at me becuase i asked if i could move his stuff which was covering every single bit of bench space so that a student could work!!)

basically he throws a hissy fit shouts a lot and then calms down quickly. i've decided today that i don't deserve it, don't need it and need to sort it.

any suggestions how to go about it.

Hairychested

Tell him to shut up and act like an adult. Be polite but firm. And don't bear grudges.

clubber

Try and work out a way you can talk to him in a non-confrontational way…

Failing that, talk to his manager.

Kuco

**** him one.

headfirst

Stand up to him in a polite and reasonable manner, which in turn will highlight his impolite and unreasonable manner. Let him know its on. If it persists talk to your boss.

rs

ask him if he thinks his reaction was directly proportional to the nature of your request or exponentially over the top 🙂

clubber

Try and talk to him at a time when you're not in the middle of a problem. Keep it calm and explain why you think his behaviour's unreasonable.

Or just shout back at him and either scare him into backing off or making him worse 🙄

TheSwede

Drop your pants and say "if you keep on treating me like an a*s hole I'm going to place this (point to erect penis) in yours" Random and slightly homosexual but it may just work. Let me know how you get on with that kiddo. Extra points for achieving a shiny helmet under duress.

hels