Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 64 total)
  • What should I do with my life?
  • poltheball
    Free Member

Sounds like a pretty sad question, but I’m just looking for suggestions here! Hopefully this paired with various interviews, lots of prospectus searching, and much mind making-upping will help me decide what to aim for.

I’m in 5th year (first year of 6th form to English people I think), so I’m studying my highers. I’m doing English, Maths, Physics, Technological Studies and Graphics. I enjoy the last two the most, but I’m adequate at all five of them (projected 5 A’s) and also do loads of sport and musical stuff in my spare time. My problem is that I’ve no idea what I want to study at uni, or what I want to do for a living.

What I want:
    -CAD/CAG content
    -Not monotonous – new challenges constantly arising
    -Not always indoors, and not a typical office job
    -Use of brain every so often
    -Decent pay
    -Not necessarily much teamwork – I always seem to end up clearing up other people’s mistakes which annoys me

I’m told that the industry is crying out for engineers, but what exactly do each of the types of engineer do? What alternatives do I have?

Any (relatively sensible) suggestions appreciated.

Ta

Houns

Join the forces

Bregante

-Not necessarily much teamwork

Houns – Member
    Join the forces

🙂

iainc

Have a look at Renewables. Lots of work here in Scotland for decades to come and we need young keen people 🙂

Spin
    Free Member

Choose something portable. By which I mean a job that you can do in different places around the world.

I say this because it’s what I wish I’d done.

Moses

Anything in the engineering area uses maths, lots of it. That will get you into other roles too, including accounting & finance.

Civil Eng: roads, railways, bridges, infrastructure, dams, big pipes. related to structural eng: making buildings and other constructions work without falling down.