Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • What race for an Enduro curious XC racer
  • gazhurst
    Free Member

So I think I quite fancy at having a go at and Enduro race but being a mediocre XC racer, my technical skills are left wanting!

Are there any suggestions for a race where I wont be massively out of my depth technically??

Rubber_Buccaneer

I am an incompetent novice so have entered Pedalhounds first race on 26 March and bought some cheap goggles from that Canyon sale.

There are six rounds in total around the South East but I think the first is sold out. They look like a good starting point with all levels and three goes at every stage

gazhurst
    Free Member

Oooo thanks, I’ll check that out….

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    Tracey

Have a look at the PMBA events. They are first class and even have a lite class which has less stages

Northwind

Tweedlove is doing an entry level race this year- though tbh I think it might be pitched a bit low for you, it sounds like it’s going to be very red-routey. Wherabouts are you?

Thing is… It also depends what you really want from your day. Some of the absolute best races I’ve done were where I was out of my depth, the first kinlochleven enduro frinstance just felt like absolute madness to me- I’d never ridden stuff like it and I was so far out of my comfort zone it made for a really great day, triumph against adversity. But other folks hated it, for exactly the same reason.

Rubber_Buccaneer

PMBA do look good but I noticed gazhurst was part of the Staines Massive so they may be a bit far to travel

gazhurst
    Free Member

Tracey – Thanks, I’ll have a look at that