Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • What % of your work colleagues are actually competent…
  • brooess
    Free Member

Was mulling over my career history today as I start looking for a new contract.
    One of the reasons I like contracting is I can just focus on getting the job done and (largely) detach my from politics…

I work in Marketing (which may be part of the problem!) but over the years I seem to have worked with more than my fair share of blaggers and people who simply aren’t that good at their jobs…

Anyone else think the competent are in a (tiny) minority…

jam-bo

49.9% are below average.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Currently
    100% (I’m self employed)
    Previously it’s ranged from 25-60% I reckon

trail_rat
    Free Member

Leaving for airport in 1hr – still waiting for tickets.

Says it all really!

alex222
    Free Member

I’m not. Some of my colleagues are though. Fortunately I’m leaving not only the company but the country.

Stoner
    Free Member

Over the years Ive been lucky to work in teams of very capable people. Its the corporate management that have spoilt the party. So now as a freelancer I get to just hang out with the shiny people.

piemonster

I’ve never considered the words work and competent together before.

Interesting idea, but it’s not for me!

DezB
    Free Member

99% are competent. I’m the 1%er.

br
    Free Member

The problem in my line of work is that been ‘good at your job’ isn’t really what others want you to be, consequently people who get on are really ‘good in the job’…

The current beef/horse crisis is a good example. But I’ve been involved in others. Nobody thanks you for spotting the flaws in their work/process/contract.

And, Auditing.

samuri
    Free Member

yeah, I’d agree there are trades where blaggers can get away with more.

I work in IT.