Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • What light set up for 24 solo race?
  • tyredbiker
    Free Member

Any advice for buying lights for relentless 24 hour race? (The first of my big challenges!) I’m a student, so preferably as cheap as possible (but still need to be able to SEE!). A friend has sent me this link but I’m not sure how kosher it is http://www.dealextreme.com/p/t6-assault-crown-waterproof-xml-t6-3-mode-1200-lumen-white-led-bike-light-with-battery-pack-set-82508 and its in the US

michaelmcc
    Free Member

There was a big thread about this yesterday, pretty simalar situation to you on a budget.

Relentless is an awesome event btw! 8)

mrlugz
    Free Member

I ran the newcastleton one in may with with a topeak LED on the bars and a Light and Motion HID on my helmet.

I bought the topeak from je james in the sale, and bought 2 L&M hid’s off ebay. Just to have 2 batteries.

The topeak lasted for the entire duration of the ‘lights on’ requirement, and I changed batteries once with the L&M. only used helmet when on the twisty bits.

I am tempted to have a punt on your linked one mind. seems really good value. Someone here must have one??

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    michaelmcc
    Free Member

How much did you pay for the L&M’s by the way? I’m selling my arcs.

mrlugz
    Free Member

@michaelmcc

I didnt pay more than £80ea for both of them. Have had to have a battery rebuilt, but that cost a grand total of £25.

Much cheaper than an addditional battery though, and I have spares!

tyredbiker
    Free Member

Okay will have a looksie for the thread! Yeah I’m tempted to get em but if they aren’t legit then it’s money wasted and I’ll only be able to afford even worse ones!