Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • What kind of cycling photography would you pay for?
  • gazerath
    Free Member

I’m a photographer and I have two very distinct sides to my photography. There is the more traditional side then an illustrative fine arty strange side.

I’m in the process of researching how to set up freelance and realise that the two don’t work together. I love cycling and would like to incorporate that into what I do, but I realise event photography doesn’t pay. How many of you have taken part in an event then nicked the image off the website with a sneaky right click, or screen print instead of paying? tut tut 🙂

So I’m looking at other avenues.

Would anyone pay to have photos of them taken with their bikes, think like the promo shots of Mark Cavindish or a documentary of them out riding? I’m good at what I do I just need to figure out which direction to take.

I am also looking at setting up workshops, been a teacher for six years has made me realise I like teaching but not too annoying kids in colleges who don’t want to be there.

My website isn’t built yet as I’m been indecisive as what to put up.

footflaps

How many of you have taken part in an event then nicked the image off the website with a sneaky right click, or screen print instead of paying?, photographed every rider and made them all available free at full 16 mp resolution on Flickr

Tick

tthew

Would anyone pay to have photos of them taken with their bikes, think like the promo shots of Mark Cavindish or a documentary of them out riding?

Not something I’d pay for personally.

Most of the event photographers put a watermark across the middle of the web verion of the image so people don’t pinch them. There’s a massive difference in event photographers skills IMHO. If you could take your illustrative strange arty shots of riders during events, instead of the standard shot from the side of the trail unimaginative ones, I may buy something like that.

footflaps