Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • What bike should I get?
  • jb79
    Free Member

This is getting expensive… so what should I do?

Currently got a ti 456 with fox talas 110-140 forks which I’m just not liking very much – feels a bit dull and slow to me. Before that I had a santa cruz BLT (2) which also felt a bit slow, thought it was the suspension (hence switching to the 456) but I guess it might have been the geometry. My background is in XC racing (in the mid 90’s) but it’s definitely background and I don’t like riding those sort of bikes much now. Favourite sort of riding is flowing singletrack and don’t mind the odd fireroad climb. Beginning to wonder if it’s just the rider that’s the problem or whether it’s just that biking has moved on and I’ve got fatter?!

stumpy01

Something like a Spesh Epic/Epic Evo or maybe a Giant Anthem??

Not sure about ‘fast/racy’ hardtails……

Why not demo/trial a few things before buying another bike that feels ‘slow’??

PS – It could be that you have indeed got fatter. 😀

davidtaylforth
    Free Member

Cotic Soul, get one of them.

thomthumb
    Free Member

Giant Anthem

thats what i was going to say.

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

What he said… get fitter!

However I think there is some thing to be said for more modern slack angled bikes being harder work than back in the day bikes… well thats my excuse any how and why I am currently buying an Anthem X2

jb79
    Free Member

Undoubtedly need to get fitter. I think the dullness of the bikes I’ve had recently actually = stability if you can push them hard enough, but I can’t so they just feel dull. Cheers for the suggestions.

z1ppy

So you want a fast racey feeling bike but not a XC race type style… err…ummm…

jb79
    Free Member

Yup, that’s right!