Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • What 120mm 15mm axle forks for trail riding?
  • 7hz
    Free Member

Looking for good quality 120mm forks for trail riding.

Want them to be easy to service.
    Want them to be light.
    Want them to be robust.
    Need to take 2.4 inch tyres minimum.

Fancy a 15mm axle. Don’t know if I’ll need tapered steerer yet, as frame has yet to be finalised.

So far on my list:

Rockshox SID 120mm – worried about tyre width?
    DT Swiss XMM 120 Twin Shot 15 mm – not that impressed with weight vs cost.

Any help much appreciated. I am no expert. Coming from a Cannonade 80mm headshok (love the weight!).

Northwind

Why are you speccing a 15mm in particular? I’d’ve suggested a Reba Team with a maxle in otherwise. I’ve not seen the numbers for Rockshox’ 15mm maxle but the 20mm Maxle lite is lighter than a Fox 15mm axle… Hubs can be made lighter for 15mm but a lot of them end up being a big shell with stepdowns anyway so you lose the advantage there too.

7hz
    Free Member

Thanks Northwind – I am clueless, I thought 15mm was the standard for this type of fork. What is the weight on the Reba Team?

Northwind

1700 grams-ish I think. Which does seem a wee bit overweight but they’re stronger and stiffer than Sids and F100s and give you decent clearance. The Team gets you the blackbox damping which I’ve got in my Revs, it’s fantastic.

The standards, well… It looks like 15mm’s winning, Rockshox have given in and started to use it even though it’s inferior because that’s what manufacturers want (and maybe riders, I don’t know…) The annoying thing is Fox admit 20mm is better for their big forks but they stick with 15mm for the little ones, I think just because it has a perception of lightness. Whereas Rockshox made 20mm work for big and little forks. QR15’s advantages are too small for the extra baggage of more standards I reckon. But 20mm is so established there’ll be not be a problem getting wheels etc in the life of the forks.