Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Welding an Aluminium Frame
  • Taz

Mate has cracked his Specialized Enduro (~04 model) at the seatpost / toptube interface. It is not covered under warranty so he is now thinking of getting the crack welded.

I think this is a waste of money as it will be too weak at the new weld and will just crack again pretty quickly and possibly be dangerous to ride. Personally, I think the £30 for re welding could be put towards a new frame.

However I am no expert so wanted to see if there is any truth in my thinking or if he should just go for it?

convert

Can’t hurt. I would’nt trust my wleds but someone who know what they are doing could probably do it. Why did it crack? Sounds like too little seatpost in possibly.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

If you get an expert who is used to welding these sorts of tubes it should be Ok – will really need a sleeve or something put on and IMO a proper job will be far more than £30. Try Harris or one of other the custom sports motorcycle folk

NorthCountryBoy
    Free Member

Depends how it was welded in the first place. Some frames are welded then the whole frame heat treated to strengthen the material and weldind and to releive stress. If you re-weld after heat treating you can temper/aneal the area and reduce strength. Basically the alloy goes soft. If the frames are not heat treated post welding then it may be Ok that is if the welder has the correct type of welding wire to weld the frame material. If he gets it welded keep a very close eye on it!

Taz

He is a big guy and has a lot of seat post showing but it was comfortably over the minimum insert (if that makes sense?)

TJ – will pass on the tip – thanks

Rockhopper
    Free Member

Why is it not covered under warranty? Is he not the original owner?

leebaxter
    Free Member