Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 59 total)
  • Website – am I being ripped off ?
  • oxforddan
    Free Member

I am in the process of trying to find a company to design and build a website for my small business. I have limited knowledge of what is really involved and I have been very shocked by the difference in quotes.

I have had a few as low as £500 and some up to £5000 !

I need a professional site than can be marketed and built well. As I am supplying the images and text, what exactly am I paying for? I get the impression that a lot of companies just add that info to their stock templates. Do you really get what you pay for? Any advice would be welcome. Thank you

allthegear
    Free Member

Different companies will provide a different service. Some will just stick the text and images into a stock template, color it in and hand it over. Others will look to see how they can help you build an online presence that helps you reach particular goals with your business.

It depends what you are looking for to how much you want to pay. Is your online presence essential to your business, will it become a primary way of communicating with your customers and business partners? If so, you need to do it properly…

Rachel

druidh
    Free Member

oxforddan – what do you do for a living?

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    johndoh
    Free Member

+1

Our minimum charge for a site is around £5k.

nbt

It depends what kind of a website you want. If you just want a brochureware “here we are” site with maybe a contact then £500 is reasonable.

If you want a business application then £5,000 is chump change.

jmason
    Free Member

Err on the side of the £5000 ones.

druidh
    Free Member

I wanted a bespoke kitchen made but the guy wanted to charge me a small fortune. I don’t get it, all he is doing is cutting some bits of wood and sticking them together again.

oxforddan
    Free Member