Viewing 39 posts - 1 through 39 (of 39 total)
  • Weather ( miserable depressed boring sod content )
  • fervouredimage
    Free Member

As a clinical psychologist I work with all levels of depression everyday and deal with all the nuances and complexities it brings but I myself have started to succumb to feeling utterly bloody fed up and the weather is almost exclusively to blame.

I’m losing all the motivation to do anything. I’ve decided to get into bouldering and combined with kayaking, mountain biking my wife and I are not short of things to do but finding the motivation to go out and do them is becoming harder and harder when it’s either raining, snowing, bitterly freezing or all three combined. I have no doubt that I just need to MTFU but there is no question I am in a slump a the moment and this winter has felt so long it’s becoming harder to get excited about a couple of months of dry, moderately warm weather. Living in northants isn’t helpful – flat lifeless farmland with zero adventure potential.

Just needed to get that off my chest.

jam-bo

Living in northants isn’t helpful – flat lifeless farmland with zero adventure potential.

move somewhere better then. weather down in the westcountry just changes the playground…

stilltortoise
    Free Member

When I lose all motivation I find that buying some new biking stuff helps. Buy some nice new gloves and a waterproof and go test them

jekkyl

cheap flights abroad often.

Gotama
    Free Member

Why not boulder/climb indoors?

Agreed though, finding less and less enthusiasm to ride in wet muddy conditions.

fervouredimage
    Free Member

Why not boulder/climb indoors?

Will be doing that but I wanted to just get out and explore. Since January I’ve basically been in offices, hospitals and my house. I’m becoming fearful of sunlight.

move somewhere better then

Roll on 2014 when the fixed term on my mortgage ends.

MrWoppit
    Free Member