Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Wacom users – what tablet next?
  • PimpmasterJazz
    Free Member

I need to replace the pen on my Intuos 3 tablet and as a new pen is £70 I am contemplating replacing the entire lot and getting something smaller.

I’m not totally up-to-date with Wacom’s comings and goings, so would anyone with experience care to offer an opinion?

I work as a graphic designer, so it will get used. Intuos 3 was great, but I didn’t use the more flddley functionality. Can’t be doing with proprietary add-on programs linking to social media and the like, and not interested in hot-key set-up or similar – essentially I just want a pen to act as a mouse in Adobe Creative Suite.

I work off a 15″ Macbook Pro most of the time and travel quite a bit, so sticking into a laptop bag would be a bonus.

Any suggestions?

midlifecrashes

/Hijack

What’s the budget option for my kids, (they have had a Huion for nearly a year but it’s gone flaky and we’re sending it back while it’s under a year old)?

/sorry

bigyinn
    Free Member

You do realise the tablet PMJ is referring to is not the same as an android tablet or an ipad.
    Its a designers drawing tool, basically a virtual sketch and drawing pad.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    leffeboy

I asked a similar sort of question recently and the most relevant reply was “The Wacom Intuos Draw small is £50 and will do everything a pen screen will. Carting it around is a minor inconvenience compared to having it built in.
    The Intuos Pro small is £170 and will blow most pen screens out of the water in terms of accuracy and pressure levels. Personally I’d get the Pro but the Draw is probably adequate for most people.”

I’m still debating between small and medium though although I think small will win

PimpmasterJazz
    Free Member

The word ‘tablet’ really has been redefined by the iPad hasn’t it. 🙂