Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Waaay OT – Bazillions of bl00dy bees – DIY or expert required?!
  • user-removed
    Free Member

Just opening up a corridor down the side of my garage. As I started lifting decades of discarded plastic sheets, rotten fencing etc., I noticed a preponderance of bees. Upon lifting one particularly stubborn sheet of ply, I suddenly found myself be(e)set on all sides by bees.

Having withdrawn to a safe distance, I tried a couple of paintball smoke grenades – this seemed to just piss them off – they certainly didn’t leave.

So, do I go in with the scorched earth policy (hard as there’s a wooden fence on one side) or call in an expert? What would an expert do anyway?

EDIT: I do feel sorry for the bees, and am aware that they’re having a hard time of it in general, but I’m not sorry enough to abandon my plans….

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Nuke the entire hive from orbit. It’s the only way to be sure.

wwaswas

Find a local beekeeper to cone and collect them

Be a shame to kill the hive

Clong
    Free Member

I’d contant a local bee keeper, who’d would be more than happy to relocate them for you. If its a trully wild colony, then its a rare thing to come across.

user-removed
    Free Member

Hmmmm. Food for thought. There used to be an old bloke further up the street who kept bees – was before we lived here but the neighbour thinks it might be his bees. Would they really stay together / reproduce for that long (he’s been dead 10 years…).

Off to Google for a local beekeeper then, but I can’t say I’m very hopeful.

wwaswas

Where are you?

joolsburger
    Free Member

Bees are great call a beekeeper and they will be happy to collect them I’m sure.

user-removed
    Free Member

Just had a chat with a chap from BeeBase, followed by another chat with someone from the British Beekeepers Association. It seems that; a) they’re bumble bees
    b) they (their nest) can’t be moved or they’ll likely die