Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • University timings
  • shortyj15

Finished university this summer with a Bsc in agricultural engineering.

As you guessed it agriculture plays a big part of my life being a contract shepherd during holidays.

My dad wants me to get an engineering job as soon as possible as the longer I leave it he thinks it’ll be harder to get a job in a year’s time.

Basically I’m asking how important is the time frame between finishing uni and getting in the career?

somafunk

Head to New Zealand and spend a year working on farms out there, that’d do more for your prospects than staying here.

andeh

Depends what you’re doing in the mean time. I imagine that bigger companies will be looking to recruit at this time of year, and those fresh out of uni are probably more appealing in terms of mouldability.

I can tell you from experience (I had a nightmare finding a job after I graduated) that the longer you leave it the more difficult it gets. You need to be able to show that you’ve been keeping your skills sharp.

You never know, if you find a grad scheme it might start in a couple of months which gives you some time to enjoy summer. Nothing wrong with looking, you might find something perfect.

The guy who owns the house we rent moved out to Australia to work on farming machinery (he was a sparky) and has decided to stay. He’s managed to make himself invaluable.

shortyj15

I spent a year already between university and sixth form. I’m not sure if i want to go into engineering and if I do it would be the solid works side of things. Is it worth doing a year’s SOLIDWORKS part time?

wobbliscott
    Free Member