• This topic has 12 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by Bez.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Ubuntu netbook remix… (sad wannabe geek content)
  • IvanDobski
    Free Member

**** it's fast!

Just made a USB stick boot drive to demo the netbook remix after getting fed up with my XP netbook crawling along and it flies, even running from the USB. I've been wanting to do this for ages but tbh I always suspected I'd **** it up. If anyone knows of any good Linux programs worth checking out let me know.

I'm off to de-windows my other laptop.

Waderider
    Free Member

Just work through the options in the Ubuntu Software Centre, you'll find lots of good stuff there. You might want to tweak your software sources also.

Linux just keeps getting better and easier, although there is definitely a steep learning curve at first. I've been using various types of linux for a few years now, it's definitely the way forward.

Top tip, not all software is in the Software Centre, and don't be scared of the command prompt e.g. 'sudo apt-get install googleearth' does what it says on the tin. Search engines are your friend.

There is a program out there for logging bike rides, although I must admit I don't use it.

I have to say unfortunately I still need to keep a dual boot with XP to run Autocad, even though I have a copy of Crossover Office, which happily runs Office 2007 and Silent Hunter 3 on Ubuntu 9.10.

Welcome back to real computing and geekdom 😯 😆

keppoch

Yep it is very good.

I am new to the whole Linux thing and it works a treat. No regrets but interested in the ability to run MS office (and yes I know open office is pretty good).

keppoch

foxyrider
    Free Member

I only problem I found with Mint 7.0 and others was hardware drivers for modern wifi cards and also the ability to connect via WPA2 TKIP/PSK ?

Otherwise was great – I/when I get a new laptop I shall put Ununtu/Mint on it 🙂