Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Tubeless – What am i doing wrong?
  • mjsmke

So this is my first time setting up a tubeless tyre. My new bike came with tuneless wheels and tyres but they are summer tyres so need to change them. My new tyres are Schwable Hans Dampf and Nobby Nic both tubeless ready.

So i put the tyre on and put in the sealant. Try pumping up but the air just comes out from under the tyre without seating.

Whats the trick? The shop didn’t use a compressor so I should be able to do it without one.

everyone
    Free Member

Pump harder? Soapy water on the bead/rim bed.

wwaswas

Don’t put sealant in until you have the tyre seated properly.

Look on the stans site for how to videos.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    martinhutch

Pump like a git. maybe squeeze the tyre onto the rim with your hand or a zip tie at the valve.

Another trick is to stick a tube in, pump it up to about 40 and leave overnight to get the tyre to seat nicely, then deflate, unhook the tyre only on one side, pull out the tube and have another go.

jwray

Multiple tricks out there to seat the bead if it won’t go on easily. I tend to go the use a tube route. Install tyre with tube to seat the beads, then remove on one side, remove tube and go again. Always works for me.

thegreatape
    Free Member

Soapy water, valve core out and pump like a bastard works for me.

Pawsy_Bear
    Free Member