Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Tubeless issue.
  • blader1611
    Free Member

I have a stans ztr crest wheel that is all set up for tubeless with a nobby nic tubeless ready tyre on it. Had it up to 35psi but over the course of the last 7 days it seems to have lost a lot of air from just being stood in the garage. I cant see any evidence of sealant coming from anywhere so where is the likely slow leak coming from? Any pointers as i am a noob with tubeless wheels.

enfht
    Free Member

Some folk are so tubeless-ist that they’ll creep into your house in the middle of the night and let your tyres down. Does happen.

howsyourdad1
    Free Member

Did you set it up? Is it a new tyre with sealant added and swished around?

If so most likely the valve.

As a side note 35psi is high, second best thing about tubeless is being able to run low pressures , but of course its personal pref.

jakehinton
    Free Member

Sounds like thats pretty high pressure for tubeless. Air will just leak slowly through the rubber anyway, I tend to add a bit more sealant when the tyres start to lose air significantly over a week or so.

nosedive
    Free Member

Maybe from round the valve? Try pumping them up a bit and see if you can see any bubbles. Have you ridden them yet? Sealant might just need a bit more of a slosh around

Northwind

TBH going down over a week isn’t really a bother- ideally you want them totally airtight but as long as they keep proper pressure for a full ride, that’s all you really need. Often they seal up better after a couple of rides, as the sealant gets into all the niches and it beds more perfectly on the rim

Junkyard
    Free Member

NW is sort of correct however if they are leaking it suggests that the sealant has not worked so I would not be that confident they will resist a puncture. Not sure though as none of mine leak – though some did intially when set up and I found riding was the best fix.

centralscrutinizer
    Free Member