Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • tubeless help! ust vs tubeless ready with stans rims which?
  • kayakboy
    Free Member

hi guys I need help from someone learned with tubeless setup. was looking to get maxxis minion f 2.4/2.5 front and maybe HR2 2.35/2.4 on rear. maxxxis site list lots varieties , many TR and a lot not. asked crc as couldn’t tell from their site which were TR and guy reckoned all the folding ones would be TR. I wondered what the difference between ust / TR was with respect to my flow rims – he was unsure. I ideally don’t want to by a super heavy tyre if I can get a lighter casing that will do the job as I don’t weight much ( for f/r – downhill duties, but no massive jumps).
    anyone have any insights / personal experience for me??
    thanks in advance as always…..
    paul

passtherizla
    Free Member

You don’t want the UST ones just normal tubeless ready. But saying that I have been running tubeless for a couple of years now and have never bought a Tubeless ready tyre.

shortcut

Stans is not UST which is a standard used by Mavic, Shimano and A few others in their UST rims and wheel sets. UST tyres are designed to work with these.

Stans is a tubeless ready rim, tape, gunge and valve that can be used with most tyres tubeless ready or not.

muggomagic

Check Nextdaytyres for the options.

drovercycles
    Free Member

UST = full tubeless standard with super-reinforced bead as used by Mavic etc, both wheel/rim and tyre must be UST to work together. Not all that common these days but Mavic have had UST tyres available for some time and still do them.