Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Trek fuel ex 9.8/9.9 Your thoughts and alternative suggestions appreciated.
  • andyxxx
    Free Member

I am a keen beginner and would appreciate any advice, input, bike suggestions.

I cycle varied terrain largely in the Peak District – big ups and downs with beautiful xc trails. I weigh about 131/2 stone and am fit.

I was initially looking for a bike with handlebar lockout because my first bike (2009 specialized fsr xc) necessitated me constantly fiddling with the rear suss, which I hate. However, another thread has suggested a bike set up correctly with good rear suss should not need altering all the time.

The trek fuel ex has been suggested and after reading about it for several hours, it certainly seems to get good reviews and I could afford a 2009 model 9.8 or possibly 9.9 in the sales
    However, I would love to hear your opinions (good or bad) if you have ridden one.

All input appreciated – thanks Andy

skiprat
    Free Member

Hi Andy

I read your other thread and agree with what the others were telling you. I have a 08 Fuel EX8 and think its a great bike. Its light, well built, well kitted and the suspension is soooo smooth, you just don't know about it or worry about it. It may take a bit longer to go up hill than other bikes but when it goes downhill, it can take it all. Its comfy for all day rides and it rides well on technical trails too.

Only problem with the bike was the tyres and rims. Just a proper sod fitting tyres. Got some new wheels and all was sorted.

I live between Sheff and Barnsley and so ride in the Peaks and the bike just rides well. Puts a smile on my face!!

willsimmons
    Free Member