Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 49 total)
  • Training plan… do you have one?
  • mrblobby
    Free Member

I’ve put together my own running training plans for years but injury now means more of a focus on cycling. I’m not experienced with cycling training plans and don’t have time to experiment so interested to hear what works for you. Do you put it together yourself? Lift ones from books? Very interested to hear from anyone who put one together with a coach/professional/online consultation. Thanks.

Edit: just to clarify, more interested in what resources you used in coming up with a plan, rather than the specific details of the plan. Thanks.

MulletusMaximus
    Free Member

Last year I had a personal coach but this year I have read Joe Friels Training Bible and have devised a plan from there. Takes you through Base, Build, Peak and Race and the training becomes more intense through the different blocks. Currently in the build phase.

I am also using TrainingPeaks which is also based on Joe Friel.

The-Swedish-Chef
    Free Member

I came from a running background and switched over to racing XC/CX a few years ago. I used Joe Friel’s book/ideas a lot to help build a schedule and a power meter to help understand what intensity I should be training at, (this was the greater unknown to me).

I also read http://www.training4cyclists.com/ for ideas

Rorschach
    Free Member

I’m racing every sunday for the next 5 weeks.
    I plan to train……..eventually (still a bit early yet tbh).Until then I’ll concentrate on enjoying riding.

mrblobby
    Free Member

Thanks MM, have got Joe’s book but there’s a lot to digest so it may be one for next season when I have a bit more time. How does trainingpeaks work with Joe’s book? Is it just a phases thing or is there tighter integration? Do you need to sign up to the pro one?

Edit: Thanks Swedish Chef, most of my training is power meter on the turbo. Thanks for the link, shall check it out.