Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • TrainerRoad or BC?
  • colournoise

Was going to post this in the big TR thread, but it might have got a bit lost.

Been riding for years, but new to the idea of more structured training.

I have a TR subscription and looking at either following one of the TR build programs (Short Power or General) or trying the British Cycling Improvers’ Plan.

Any opinions on which is ‘better’?

Obviously with TR I just need to connect everything up and follow the workouts on screen. With the BC plan I’d need to do a bit more planning and prep work (would probably end up finding TR workouts that mirror the BC instructions).

Also, it would presumably be OK to substitute in real MTB rides for some of the sessions? Would go insane chained to the turbo in the garage for weeks…

colournoise

Plaintive bump…

ferrals
    Free Member

I use TR, I looked at the BC plans but they seemed too complicated. TR takes out the thinking, you just train.

I regularly replicate TR outside, in fact i keep my subscription going through the summer when i only turbo occassionlly just so i can follow the plan structure.

Depending on where you live some sessions will be harder to replicate outside. I find long base rides are easy (they tend to have these on a sunday) as are the shorter intervals up to about 6 minutes (can be done as hill climbs etc). Because of where I live I struggle to replicate the longer sweet spot or over under intervals. If you lived somewhere with giant mountains or very flat it would probably be ok, but undulating terrain makes them hard and you get too much coasting to get the benefit.

colournoise

Cheers. Quite flat round here so should be OK.

Was leaning towards TR – can’t see me following the programs to the letter anyway (not racing – more a way to get a bit of fitness developed over just my usual ‘social’ riding). I suspect I’ll ditch a few turbo sessions in favour of ‘specific training’ round the local woods…

stevious