Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Trail gradings – What do they all mean – Really?
  • joolsburger
    Free Member

Planning some routes and trips for the spring and am going with some less able chaps.

Was looking at Wales. To my mind something like Barry knows best is a Green Run based on ski gradings. Is that a fair benchmark for planning my trips for anyone that's ridden it? I'm assuming that as long as I avoid blacks the guys will be OK or do blacks have chicken runs and so on?

GaryLake
    Free Member

Green/Blue: usually ok for total beginners, few are actually fun if you're good (Brechfa for example is actually quite fun yet fine for a total beginner)

Red: anything from very tame and rollable to highly likely to kill you.

Black: anything from very tame and rollable to highly likely to kill you.

Better off talking to riders as MTB grading is a bit of a joke and one centre's black is another's red. And sometimes a trail is black cause of the amount of climbing or length, sometimes because it's technical.

joolsburger
    Free Member

Well that's a useful system then!

These are the guys I ski with so I'd like a few surprises for them (they are expert skiers and like to surprise me the bastards)

matthewlhome
    Free Member

they only seem to be graded relevant to the other trails at that location. For example the red trail at Sherwood pines in no way compares to either of the red loops at Whinlatter.

It does worry me that the Forestry Commission cannot work out some sort of standard measure though. I can imagine someone who has only ridden at Sherwood thinking ' I can easily do a red' and coming a bit unstuck somewhere like Whinlatter (especially in the wet).

jedi

the need for trail centers to have a black run annoys me.
    thetford for example

joolsburger
    Free Member