Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Tracker for an elderly relative
  • shaggy

I have a elderly relative with dementia. She still likes to go out and see people, go shopping etc, but her memory is slipping away. She won’t carry a phone. We are thinking about getting a tracker to put in her handbag. Obviously, this isn’t an instant fix but I can’t see it as doing any harm. I’ve had a look online but I was wondering if anyone here had experience of this? I’m also curious about running costs, as that isn’t very clear (but obviously not a major consideration). iPhone app tracking app is about the only requirement. Thanks.

globalti
    Free Member

I have some experience thanks to my Dad who died with Alzheimers and presently, my neighbour, who has the disease.

In my Dad’s case, during the phase of the illness when he was active he did wander off a few times, most memorably when he decided he wanted to walk into town for a haircut. No harm came to him apart from a rather severe scalping and the fact that he lost his expensive walking jacket. Eventually he was found, quite late in the day, wandering around the town when there were few shoppers on the streets. By visiting all the barbers in town next day we found his coat. Later as the illness progressed he ended up in care and wouldn’t have been able to wander off anyway.

My neighbour nips to the shops and at the moment is able to find her way home, a good thing because her husband is not well enough to go out to find her.

We never considered a tracker with my Dad, in any case he probably would have left it in his coat pocket. It would certainly give reassurance when they wander off and are late home.

loddrik
    Free Member
    bikebouy
    Free Member

Asbo tracker ?

kilo

Spooky post, I’ve just had to start looking into the same stuff for my father, doesn’t need it yet but has just been diagnosed with the big A (and it’s not cat aids!) .