Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Tour de France – Champs Elysee
  • younggeoff

OK complete newbie to this, fancy going to see the finish of the tour so what’s the best way.

Book own flights / hotels and just turn up and hope or go with a package?

Thoughts / experiences please

j_me
    Free Member

It’ll be rammed. I’ve never been but would prefer to find a nicer, quieter, earlier stage to enjoy.

Elfinsafety
    Free Member

Best go and stake out your spot now, before the crowds get there.

I’m serious; it gets several people deep up by the barriers once the peloton hit the CE. Some folk camp out to get a good spot.

lazybike
    Free Member

unless your Chris Tremlett, take some ally steps with you…seriously, its the only way you’ll see anything.

Elfinsafety
    Free Member

Yeah but then that’s selfish cos people behind you can’t see anything…

t_i_m
    Free Member

what elfin said +1
    No need to book a package, just turn up very early on the day.
    NB: they do so many laps that a lot of people will start to lose some interest after the first few, so if your French is any good you can prob get away with asking to go nearer the front for one lap.

SurroundedByZulus
    Free Member

If you get there about 4 or 5 hours before they peloton gets there you should get to the front. I wouldnt bank on getting anywhere to stay by just turning up though – that includes campsites.

40mpg

I went last year and it was a great atmosphere. 26 of us cycled from Cherbourg over 3 days, we stayed in a novotel/etap at versailles which is far enough out to not be full but an easy trip in on the metro.