Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • total noob from bolton
  • dazza374
    Free Member

hi guys im new too mtb and need too find somewere good for a new person to mtb too go or if there is any groups to go riding with
    cheers dazza

neil853
    Free Member

there’s a few places to try, you’ve got rivington on your doorstep and i’ve always liked gisburn (near clitheroe) which is about 45 minutes or so away.

A club called the bogtrotters (based lancaster) do beginner rides too which maybe worth a look if thats your thing

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

I think the suggestion of driving all the way to Gisburn for adequate riding is funny when there’s so much begging to be ridden much closer 🙂

Rivi, Healey Nab, Great Hill, Witton Weavers Way, Darwen Moor, Rooley Moor, Brown Wardle, Walsden, Calder-friggin-dale etc etc!!

http://www.bogtrotters.org

lipseal
    Free Member

Am thinking of joining a club, but think bog trotters might be a bit far as I live in sunny Southport.

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

We have members in Sale, Liverpool, Formby, Southport, Blackpool, Horwich, Westhaughton, Wigan, Lostock etc etc etc 🙂 There are southern night rides most Wednesdays in the areas I mentioned in my first post!

lipseal
    Free Member

Will be intouch then soon for a taster ride.

neil853
    Free Member

always an irritation simon eh?! I mentioned a place very close by in rivington. The reason i suggested gisburn is that its waymarked and enjoyable, everytime i’ve took people who’ve just started or are inexperienced they’ve enjoyed it. Of course there’s hunderds or places he could go my list wasn’t exactly final

Margin-Walker
    Free Member

I live on rivvy’s doorstep – you may as well start riding all the routes round here. Darwen, Healy Nab, Holcombe, Rivvy. Done done fast 2 hours tonight with KKF and SBB. Get some lights and get out…..you’ll be surprised how many are out at night in Winter.

Aristotle
    Free Member